The Erasmus Mundus Action includes two independent programmes: Erasmus Mundus Joint Master (EMJM) and Erasmus Mundus Design Measures (EMDM).

Erasmus Mundus Joint Master

Through the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master (EMJM) a consortium of higher education institutions can develop different high quality master programmes. The EMJM provides support for administration as well as grants to students and teachers.

These master programmes are developed within a consortium of at least three higher education institutions from three different countries, two of which, at least, must be EU Member states or third countries associated to the programme. Other organisations may also participate given that they provide special expertise and important skills to the consortium.

The programmes include mandatory mobility for all enrolled students of a minimum of two study periods in at least two countries within the consortium, of which at least one must be a programme country. The qualification must be recognised in each country and the students shall, upon completing their studies, be awarded a double or joint degree.

The EMJM grant consists of a contribution to institutional costs and to student costs. In addition, there is a top-up intended to cover individual needs of students with disabilities. 

Erasmus Mundus Design Measures

Erasmus Mundus Design Measures (EMDM) are short projects developed within a consortium of at least three higher education institutions with the aim to support institutions in the set-up of a joint master programme in Europe. 

Erasmus Mundus Design Measures are aimed for higher education institutions that are interested in delivering a joint master programme but are not yet ready to launch an EMJM.

With EMDM funding higher education institutions are expected to develop the following areas:

  • the content, structure and practices of the joint study programme
  • joint services for students
  • joint marketing and dissemination measures
  • a draft of the consortium and student agreements
  • a joint process of awarding and recognising the degree.

The funding will be awarded for a fixed period of 15 months and a grant of 55 000 Euro. The grant should be used for costs linked to the activities necessary to set up the new joint master programme.

Who can apply and participate?

Higher education institutions in a Programme or Partner country can apply.

Apply to the programme

This programme is administered by the central programme office in Brussels, Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA).

Electronic Application Forms - eForms on EACEA’s website

Applicants must submit their grant application by 16 February 2022 at 17:00.

Find partners to cooperate with

You will find help and tips for finding partners on our Swedish website.
Finding partnerships (Swedish website)